A publication workflow enables you to work at your own pace, ensuring only completed content is made available to an Intuiface experience.
It can also be a way for a primary editor to prepare all the content, stage it for publishing, and have a different user proofread or validate it and actually publish that content live.
Publication workflow for individual Content changes
All modifications you make in the Content panel are automatically saved as Draft.
For a Group Component, or for each item in a Collection Component, there is a rocket icon that - when clicked - indicates the available publishing options:
- Stage for publishing: This will label content as ready for publishing without actually publishing it. Think of it as staging in advance of publication.
- Publish now: This will push the new content into production, making it available to Intuiface experiences.
Content in either the Draft or Staged for Publish states will never appear in an experience running by a Player. Only published content will appear in running experiences.
Publication workflow for multiple content changes
Use the "Publish content changes" button in the bottom left corner of the Content panel to "Stage for publishing" or "Publish all" existing modifications at once.
Refreshing the local base copy after publishing content changes
Experiences using a base are not aware that new and/or updated content has been published. Rather, the local copy of the H-CMS base must be intentionally refreshed by either you or the experience.
Multiple methods exist for refreshing the local base copy. Some methods result in automatic synchronization with the cloud-hosted base master, other methods rely on your or the experience to intentionally force a refresh.