Published experiences can be shared with colleagues and clients directly with their Intuiface accounts or - exclusively for Windows PCs - through a self-installer. This article summarizes these various options. See this article for details about how Intuiface accounts at different Platform plan levels affect sharing.
When sharing an experience with other Intuiface accounts, you can choose whether to share with Writer or Reader privileges. There are two sharing levels:
- Writer privileges: The target account can make changes to the original experience. Those changes will overwrite the version shared by the experience owner.
- Reader privileges: The target account can save a local version of the shared experience and change that local copy. Changes cannot be applied to the original experience.
The sharing levels available for a given experience depend upon:
- the Platform plan used to create that experience, AND
- the Platform plan of the target Intuiface account.
For example, an experience created using Platform Premier can be shared with Write privileges to any account at the Premier or Enterprise level.
NOTE: This sharing level is only available to Premier and Enterprise-level Intuiface accounts.
Target accounts granted Writer privileges can make changes to the shared experience and save those changes back into the cloud, effectively overwriting the original, published version. This sharing level enables constraint-free collaboration between two or more colleagues.
Experiences shared with Writer privileges are tagged with the following icon in the target account's Experiences panel:
The experience owner can grant Writer privileges to multiple Intuiface accounts. The first account to download the experience takes the Writer "token", meaning all other accounts given Writer privileges - including the experience owner - are demoted to Reader privileges. The Writer token is released when:
- the experience is published, AND
- no further changes are made to the experience, AND
- the experience is closed
Saving the experience locally and closing it without publishing changes will not allow the Writer token to be released.
To revoke Writer privileges, see this section below.
NOTE: This sharing level is available to all accounts regardless of the Platform plan.
Target accounts granted Reader privileges can download shared experiences, make changes to those experiences, and save copies of those experiences locally using Save As. The original, shared version of the experience is unaffected. Overwriting the original requires Writer privileges.
Experiences shared with Reader privileges are tagged with the following icon in the target account's Experiences panel:
Revoking access to shared experiences
At any time, the experience owner can revoke access to shared experiences.
By creating a Windows self-installer, anyone without an Intuiface account can run an experience on their Windows PC. Every time the installer is run, the latest versions of Player and the experience are downloaded if available, and then the experience is run without ever showing Player.
NOTE: The ability to create a self-installer is available to all Platform plan levels. However, be sure to have available Player licenses, as one will be used each time the experience is run, just like an in-venue Player.
The experience is encrypted to prevent it from being editable in Composer.